The foundations of higher education studies in Mitrovica were laid by the establishment of the Higher Technical School in 1961. In 1970 the Departments of Mining, Technology and Metallurgy were opened within the Technical Faculty, initially in Mitrovica in the academic year 1970/71, and then continued in Pristina until the establishment of the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy in Mitrovica in 1974. The Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy in Mitrovica was established on the basis of the Law on the Establishment of the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy adopted by the Kosovo Assembly on 22 July 1974. In the year of the establishment of this institution, studies were offered in the following departments: Mining, Technology and Metallurgy, while in the academic year 1980/81 the Department of Geology was opened, as well. The establishment of the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy bore immense significance for the whole of Kosovo. It was the Trepça Mineral-Metallurgical Complex that needed great engineering cadres from the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy. The cadres graduating from the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy and the Higher Technical School were worthily placed in the Kosovo Power Plant and in the entire industry and economy of Kosovo. Based on these faculties and based on the tradition of over 60 years of higher education in Mitrovica, the Government of the Republic of Kosovo established the Public University of Mitrovica on 6 March 2013, while the Kosovo Assembly ratified the decision on 31 May 2013. According to the Provisional Statute, approved by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, within the University of Mitrovica “Isa Boletini” (UMIB) operate six faculties: Faculty of Geosciences (FG), Faculty of Food Technology (FFT), Faculty of Mechanical and Computer Engineering (FMCE), Faculty of Law (FL), Faculty of Economics (FE) and Faculty of Education (FE). Within these faculties, the total number of programs accredited at UMIB until September 2019 was 20 study programs at two levels: Bachelor and Master. A total of 114 professors and assistants are engaged in the teaching process at UMIB. Out of 114 academic staff 95 are full-time professors and 19 contracted professors (part time): whereas from the total number of  the full-time professors, 20 are full professors, 12 associate professors, 28 assistant professors, 33 assistants and 2 lecturers. The ratio professor-students in UMIB, for this academic year is 1:16.