A brief history of the Faculty of Geosciences

The foundations of the Mining, Technology and Metallurgy studies were laid with the opening of the Mitrovica Technical High School in 1961.

In 1970, within the Technical Faculty the branches of Mining, Technology and Metallurgy were opened, initially in Mitrovica, the school year 1970/71, and then continued in Pristina until the establishment of the Faculty of Geosciences and Technology in Mitrovica in 1974.

The Faculty of Geosciences and Technology in Mitrovica was established by the Law on Establishment of the Faculty of Geosciences and Technology by the Assembly of Kosovo on July 22, 1974. In the year of establishment the Faculty had three branches: Mining, Technology, and Metallurgy. A total of 322 Albanian students were enrolled in the three branches this year.

In the school year 1980/81 the branch of Geology was opened and in this branch were enrolled 151 Albanian students.

Within the Faculty, the Institute for Research in Technology, Mining and Metallurgy was established in 1978. The Faculty Institute functioned until 1991, when Albanian faculty and students were forcibly expelled from the then Serbian regime. In 2007 at the proposal of the Faculty, the Steering Council based on the provisions of the UP Statute established the Institute for Mining, Metallurgy and Materials, Technology and Geology.

Since 2001 studies at the Faculty of Geosciences and Technology have been organized according to the curricula approved by the Senate of the University of Prishtina based on the Bologna Declaration.

In the school year 2010/2011 the Accreditation Agency has accredited all Faculty curricula in Bachelor and Master studies

In the academic year 2013/2014, the Kosovo Accreditation Agency has accredited all Faculty curricula in Bachelor and Masters studies (9 programs in total: 3 Bachelors and 6 Masters):

Existing Accredited Programs
(for academic years 2014/15 – 2016/2017)

Department of Geology


Geology / Bsc (180 ECTS)


Mineral Raw Materials / Msc (120 ECTS)
Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology / Msc (120 ECTS)

Department of Mining


Mining / Bsc (180 ECTS), with specializations:
Preparation of mineral raw materials)


Minerals / Msc (120 ECTS)
Geotechnics / Msc (120 ECTS)

Department of Materials and Metallurgy


Materials and Metallurgy / Bsc (180 ECTS), with specializations:


Materials / Msc (120 ECTS)
Metallurgy / Msc (120 ECTS)

Multidisciplinary International Conference on Geosciences- "GEOSCIENCES AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT"
13-14 October 2022, Mitrovicë, Kosova